Ant-Man – 2015

“Armed with a super-suit with the astonishing ability to shrink in scale but increase in strength, cat burglar Scott Lang must embrace his inner hero and help his mentor, Dr. Hank Pym, plan and pull off a heist that will save the world.”

This is going to be one of my rare all-positive reviews of a film because I absolutely loved it. Not a typical superhero film and I was afraid it was going to be similar to The Green Hornet which I think everyone can agree was just dreadful but this was just perfect. I have to compare it to that because Paul Rudd, like Seth Rogen, is typically seen in comedic roles and this is a massive change. I think the problem Seth Rogen had is that his comedy is usually a lot more vulgar and that change was a bit too drastic for him, whereas Paul Rudd just acted like a typical Paul Rudd character but in a superhero film. I’m not sure it should have worked but it definitely did.

It wasn’t just Paul Rudd though I thought the whole casting was pretty good. Michael Douglas is obviously good in everything, Evangeline Lilly isn’t exactly a household name but she was pretty good too, and Corey Stoll, again not somebody I particularly recognised but he was good. The whole concept of the film and Ant-Man as a superhero is ridiculously stupid but because of the casting choice it somehow works.

I can’t actually think of anything specific I liked about it though. I tend not to like recent superhero films because they’re over-hyped with a massive budget but this didn’t have either of those. The budget wasn’t small but it wasn’t like The Avengers, and other than die-hard superhero film fans nobody really cared about this film. I’ve never been one to love Oscar nominated films, I much prefer films that just go under the radar all year and that’s what this did, especially with all the other superhero films around these days.

I’m not sure how I feel about Ant-Man being in the new Captain America film coming out this year but that might just be because I don’t really like Captain America, but I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel to this as much as it’s a long way away and I’m always looking forward to seeing Paul Rudd in any upcoming comedy films he’s in. I would definitely recommend Ant-Man to anyone though and for anyone who didn’t enjoy it first time, I would say give it another go.

Leave a Reply

