X-Men: Days of Future Past – 2014

“The X-Men send Wolverine to the past in a desperate effort to change history and prevent an event that results in doom for both humans and mutants.”

I wasn’t actually going to do a review of this film because it’s been quite a while since it came out but I sat down the other day to watch it because I had been watch Star Trek on SyFy and wanted to see some more Patrick Stewart. I’d been putting it off for a while because the whole time travel thing just sounded a bit stupid and I thought it was going to be ridiculous. Well at least I thought I’d been putting it off. About half an hour into the film it dawns on me that I’d already seen it. I think that’s a reflection on just how bad this film is.

It has a star-studded line up from both the Patrick Stewart generation of X-Men and the new James McAvoy generation but even the amount of good actors couldn’t save this film. The whole sending Wolverine back in time was just stupid and a bad excuse to get all of these actors in the one film. There didn’t need to be a crossover film to have both generations of X-Men in. X-Men: First Class was too good of a film to throw away for the sake of this awful transitional film and I feel that X-Men: First Class has pretty much been made redundant as an introduction to the new generation now.

The action in the film isn’t too bad. It’s all done in a quite clever way but it sort of has to be clever to keep up with the time traveling malarkey. As I said before all the actors are good so it’s difficult to go wrong when you have that much quality on the screen. It’s also written well, it’s witty when it needs to be and emotional when it needs to be, it’s just the general idea of the time travel and the transition or crossover or whatever you want to call it that I didn’t like. When the whole film is based on a stupid premise it’s hard to get a really good film out of it and that’s probably why I managed to completely forget I had already seen it.

It’s a bit harsh saying that it was so bad that it’s forgettable because 2nd time around it didn’t seem that bad but that is what happened so obviously it wasn’t particularly good. X Men: First Class I have optionally watched twice after my first viewing just because it was a good film. After writing this I hope I don’t manage to forget that I’ve seen this film, because I really don’t want to watch it again.

Leave a Reply

