Avengers: Age of Ultron – 2015

“When Tony Stark and Bruce Banner try to jump-start a dormant peacekeeping program called Ultron, things go horribly wrong and it’s up to Earth’s Mightiest Heroes to stop the villainous Ultron from enacting his terrible plans.”

I could go on forever about how bad Marvel films are I really could. Too much money, too many characters, too many special effects, not enough good writers. Having said all that, they achieve the goals that they set out for themselves. They pump a load of money into actors that everybody loves and throw in explosions in beautiful locations and make entertaining films. I can say I hate them but it’s hypocritical because I will still always watch them and give them the money that makes them so successful. They’re really hard not to like let’s face it. They’re stupid, the acting is often really bad considering the amount of famous names they have, and the storylines are stupid. The one thing I really didn’t like about this film specifically though is that it was pretty much identical to the first one. If in 12 months time somebody put me in a room and put one of them on, I wouldn’t know which one it was. There’s too many superheroes these days that I just cannot keep up with it all. My mind can’t work like the 11 year old’s these films are made for.

The second thing I didn’t like and didn’t get about the film was the whole “Vision” thing. I don’t know where he came from or how/why they possibly needed extra help with the amount of them there already is, it just confused me. He looked like a camp Superman. The thing that’s supposed to redeem this film is that it’s supposed to be witty and funny but I think I’m just getting too old for it now. Either that or the writing is getting even worse than it already was. There are a few redeeming qualities though, Scarlett Johansson being the obvious one. She might not be the best actress in the world but she is ridiculously attractive. I know that’s not all she’s there for but it’s a nice little bonus isn’t it. The other is just the incessant action. It is non-stop from start to finish and through gritted teeth I have to say it’s good to watch.

I’m one of those people that enjoy not liking these types of films so Superhero films are always among the most anticipated films of the year for me. Suicide Squad is going to be the next one released I think at the beginning of next year although a review of Ant-Man will be up soon as well. I will always highly recommend Marvel/Avengers films because they’re good fun for all ages and you can watch them alone, with a partner, with friends, or with family.

Leave a Reply

