Star Trek: Renegades – 2015

“It is nearly ten years after Voyager’s return from the Delta Quadrant, and the Federation is in a crisis. The Federation’s main suppliers of dilithium crystals are disappearing. Space and time have folded around several planets, effectively isolating them from any contact with outside worlds. Tuvok must put together a new covert, renegade crew – mostly outcasts and rogues – even criminals. This new crew is tasked with finding out what is causing the folding of time and space, and stopping it – at all costs.”

A bit of a long summary but it sums the whole film up pretty well. I’m not usually one for made for tv movies or fan made movies but I will watch pretty much anything Star Trek related and it is directed by Tim Russ. This film could have been awful and I still would have loved it just for the nostalgia. It had Walter Koenig (Chekov), Tim Russ (Tuvok), Manu Intiraymi (Icheb), Richard Herd (Admiral Paris), and Robert Picardo (Dr. Zimmerman/The Doctor). Obviously I wasn’t alive during the Original Series but I grew up watching TNG, DS9, and Voyager and playing Star Trek: Armada and Star Trek: Elite Force on the PC so seeing all of these actors from Voyager just brought back memories.

The film itself was actually really good. It started with Corin Nemec as Captain Alvarez who reminded me a bit of Chris Pine as Captain Kirk, obviously no William Shatner but who is. He seemed like a pretty solid character but as the story developed him and the ship he was captaining petered out a bit to make room for the ‘leader’ of the renegades, Lexxa Singh (Adrienne Wilkinson) who was fantastic. You could tell the camera work and graphics wasn’t the most high-tech but the leading actors and actresses and all the supporting cast were all brilliant and that was what made the film for me. The writing was good, but the casting was a lot better.

I mentioned Captain Alvarez because he was one of many parts of this film that just came and went without any sort of explanation or plot development. I understand trying to squeeze in as many actors from old Star Trek series as possible but they tried to give every single one their own little plot within the main plot and it just got a bit too much in the end. It took a lot away from the main story but I still think it was a brilliantly made film. Had it not been for those appearances would I have liked it as much? I don’t know. As soon as I saw Tuvok it put a smile on my face for the rest of the film so I was always going to enjoy it.

If you’re not a Star Trek fan or a Sci-Fi fan you probably won’t like this film, but I loved it so I would highly recommend it and I hope it gets turned into a web based series.

Leave a Reply

