Epic – 2013

“A teenager finds herself transported to a deep forest setting where a battle between the forces of good and the forces of evil is taking place. She bands together with a rag-tag group of characters in order to save their world — and ours.”

I’m finding it more and more difficult to enjoy animated films both the older I get and the more of them are made. There have been a few that I can watch every Christmas like Toy Story 2, How to Train Your Dragon, Despicable Me and Monsters Inc but other than that none of them really stand out, especially not in the last 3 or 4 years. I am still yet to watch How to Train Your Dragon 2 in fear of it disappointing me after how much I enjoyed the first one but this film I had no real expectations of, it has just been there waiting to be watched for over 12 months and yesterday seemed like the day to do so. I realise that a 21 year old is not the target audience for films like this but I would still like to be able to enjoy them and this one I sadly didn’t.

Right from the start it just felt very repetitive and predictable. A few whimsical lines here and there but it wasn’t doing anything for me. Trying to put myself back into the late 90’s and early 2000’s when I was the right age for this type of film I can see how it could have been enjoyable but even then it felt very gender specific. I can’t see a young boy asking his parents to take them to the cinema to watch this but I suppose the same could be said about girls and How to Train Your Dragon. Despicable Me and Monsters Inc. are the only ones I have mentioned that seem very neutral to me. The idea didn’t feel particularly original and the execution certainly wasn’t but all in all it wasn’t bad, just average.

Leave a Reply

