French Open Predictions

I can only really see one person winning the French Open this year and that is Novak Djokovic. He has simply been unstoppable all year and with Nadal’s clay form fleeting in the run-up to this tournament I can’t see him getting close to Novak. Andy Murray as much as I can’t stand him has been really impressive on clay but mentally Djokovic has his number and that shows every time they play each other. Federer is always the favourite in my head just because I always want him to win everything but he just doesn’t have the physicality to compete with Djokovic anymore. I think there are two dark horses in the competition, possibly even three with how Wawrinka has been playing in the last month but Kei Niskikori and Tomas Berdych are both excellent on clay and in excellent form. I still don’t think either of them can compete with Djokovic on top form but if he isn’t having the best of days and a few mistakes creep in either one of them can easily capitalize. Nishikori is quickly becoming one of my new favourites and I hope he does manage a grand slam sooner rather than later but I feel like in the form he is in this year that Djokovic is simply unstoppable on any surface.

Leave a Reply

