Ex Machina – 2015

“A young programmer is selected to participate in a breakthrough experiment in artificial intelligence by evaluating the human qualities of a breathtaking female A.I.”

This is a really strange film that had a lot of promise but sort of petered out into nothing in the end. I feel a bit bad for anyone from Harry Potter who has their own little fandom and then can’t be taken seriously in any roles they have in the future, but as someone who doesn’t like Harry Potter I thought Domhall Gleeson was really good, and in a film that only really has 3 characters he needed to be. Oscar Isaac and Alicia Vikander are the other two are equally as good. Having last seen and praised Oscar Isaac in Inside Llewyn Davis I knew he was going to be outstanding yet again and he was.

Unfortunately for all the cast the storyline let it down. It always seemed to be on the edge, the story building up nicely throughout and then it felt like they didn’t know what to do with it at the end. I wasn’t expecting an action film but I was expecting a few surprises or for something to go wrong. Although it was clever in the way they did everything it was also all quite predictable. The only huge surprise was the end and I didn’t really get it so if anyone can explain to me why she left him at the end that would be great because I was left confused and a little bit disappointed. Oscar Isaac and Domhall Gleeson were shining lights in a pretty uneventful film but they couldn’t salvage it for me. However it has 7.9 on IMDb at the moment so clearly a lot of people liked it more than I did.

Leave a Reply

