Gone Girl – 2014

“With his wife’s disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it’s suspected that he may not be innocent.”

Another film that I have failed to read the novel which it is based on beforehand and the only review of said novel I have is “shite book” coming from my ever eloquent mother. Irrespective of this review I find it difficult to believe that the book could actually be better than the film because I thought it was phenomenal. It’s unfortunate that Ben Affleck is permanently trying to break out of the shadow of Daredevil (as I seem to be about the only person who didn’t absolutely despise that film) because he really is an excellent actor and this was him at his very best. Rosamund Pike is also perfect in this film. Skipping through her IMDb page she has been in a lot of films I’ve seen but not in particularly memorable roles. Her role in this however is exceptional and most definitely memorable. It’s a difficult film to review in depth without completely spoiling it for anyone who may read this so all I can say about it really is; it’s very long but stick with it and you won’t regret it because it really is brilliant. I can’t remember every film I watched in 2014 but I’m pretty sure this would be amongst my top 3 if I did it really was that good. Psychological Thriller is one of the few genres at the moment not regurgitating itself monthly and Gone Girl is right at the height of originality, suspense, and surprise. As far as films go it’s as close to a psychological masterpiece as I think of.

One thought on “Gone Girl – 2014

Leave a Reply

